Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics

The Australian National University’s Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics and one of the Schools in the Institute of Advanced Studies – the part of the ANU devoted to research and research training. They are Australia’s premier university centre for astronomical research. Their mission is to: 1) advance the observational and theoretical frontiers of astronomy and its enabling technologies; 2) provide national and international leadership; and 3) train outstanding scientists. Their headquarters are located on Mount Stromlo, a twenty minute drive from the centre of Canberra, Australia’s capital city. They run Australia’s two largest optical observatories: Mount Stromlo Observatory itself (damaged by the Canberra bushfires of 18 January 2003) and Siding Spring Observatory, which is located near the town of Coonabarabran, in the Western Plains of NSW. This has been added to Astronomy Resources Subject Tracer™ Information Blog.