There is a interesting and some what controversial statement in the Vista licensing that could be of concern to those who chose to upgrade from within XP to Vista. It states:

“UPGRADES. To use upgrade software, you must first be licensed for the software that is eligible for the upgrade. Upon upgrade, this agreement takes the place of the agreement for the software you upgraded from. After you upgrade, you may no longer use the software you upgraded from.”

Full license in .pdf located here.

Prior to the advent of personal computers, there were two things that I was taught never to discuss. Politics and religion. When Windows was introduced I added a third to the list. Windows EULA’s. Why? One needs only to watch the fur fly when this is brought up in the forums.

So. What does the statement above mean? It could mean that once you install Vista over XP, you relinquish the rights to use XP. But does that mean if you wanted to uninstall Vista and go back to XP you couldn’t?

To avoid this issue wouldn’t it just be easier to do a clean install and avoid the hassle? We’ve covered the work around before. Install Vista, don’t put in the product key, install Vista a second time. More clean install info here.

Comments welcome.
[tags]vista, license, eula, [/tags]