Each time you delete an item in XP, you are prompted to confirm your actions. The confirmation prompt ensures that you do not accidentally delete a file. However, in some cases, you may not want to receive the prompt; for example, if you are cleaning up your folders and deleting a large number of files.

If you do not want to receive the confirmation, you can turn this feature off.

To turn off the confirmation prompt when deleting items:

  1. Right click the Recycle Bin and click Properties.
  2. Verify that the Global tab is selected.
  3. Clear the Display delete confirmation dialog option.
  4. Click OK.