What happens to permissions when you move or copy? When you copy a folder that has specifically been shared (rather than just inheriting sharing from its parent), the original remains shared, but the copy is reset to Not Shared. However, if you copy the folder to a drive or folder that is shared, it will inherit the sharing setting of its new parent location. The same goes for moving a folder. Any specific sharing permissions it has are removed, but it’s free to inherit sharing from the new location.
When you copy or move a file or folder from an NTFS drive to a FAT or FAT32 drive, all NTFS permission settings are removed, leaving it wide-open for anyone to access.
When you copy to another NTFS drive, or within the same drive, any old NTFS permissions assigned specifically to the original are stripped away, and it inherits NTFS permissions from the new location. To copy, you must have Write permission for the destination. The user doing the copying becomes the CREATOR OWNER of the copy.
When you move a file or folder to another NTFS drive, the permissions work just like copying. Any old permissions are removed, and the file or folder inherits permissions from the new location. You must have Modify permission for the file or folder being moved and Write permission for the destination drive or folder. The user doing the moving becomes the CREATOR OWNER of the file.
When you move a file or folder to a different location on the same NTFS drive, however, permissions work a little differently. The moved file or folder does inherit permissions from the new location, but if any permissions were set specifically for that object, they’re retained and they override the new inheritances. You must have Modify permission for the file or folder being moved and Write permission for the destination drive or folder. The CREATOR OWNER doesn’t change.