In part I of Working with Rules in Outlook 2007, you learned how to create rules in Outlook 2007. With your rules created, your Inbox should be more manageable and organized.

After you create a rule, you may decide that you want to temporarily disable it. If you delete the rule, you will need to recreate it when you want to use it again. Given that a rule can be quite complex, deleting and re-creating it is not the most efficient option. Instead, you can just turn the rule off so Outlook will not run it. When you want to use the rule again, all you need to do is turn it back on.

To turn a rule off:

  1. From the Tools menu, click Rules and Alerts.
  2. If you have more than one e-mail account, in the Apply changes to this folder list, select the Inbox that you want.
  3. From the list of rules, select or clear the check box next to the rule you want to turn off.
  4. Click OK.

To turn the rule back on, repeat the steps described above.

Conversely, you may decide that you no longer need a rule and will not require it in the future. In such cases, you can simply delete the rule.

To delete a rule:

  1. From the Tools menu, click Rules and Alerts.
  2. If you have more than one e-mail account, in the Apply changes to this folder list, select the Inbox that you want.
  3. From the list of rules, select the rule that you want to delete.
  4. Click Delete.
  5. Click OK.

[rsslist:http://shop.tagjag.com/products/microsoft+office]