I like most Google products. But in the past I have been pretty vocal about not installing its stuff on my desktop, regardless of platform. Today, it looks like I was right to be wary. Bug or feature? Considering Google openly points out that its leadership deems privacy as something dated and needing to be retired, I’m suspicious.

Regardless of why or how it happened, the damage has been done. Google will need to work hard to not only make sure that this kind of bug doesn’t happen again, but also explain why a “bug” like this would happen in the first place if the toolbar was supposedly disabled.

I have no problem with the Google toolbar sending data, assuming I have chosen to leave it turned on. But running data transmissions in the background when the end user is under the impression that it’s off? Clearly, something needs to be reconsidered here.

[awsbullet:adrenalin o.d.]