Facebook shares personal profile information with business partners. Facebook users are “opted in” automatically. If a Facebook user does not want this information to remain private, there is a procedure to “opt out.”

Go to “Privacy Settings”; then “Applications and Web Sites”; then “Instant Personalization Pilot Program” and click edit settings.

Facebook still may be able to share your information through your friends’ accounts. Perhaps the operating assumption with Facebook should be that there is no privacy:

As many as four out of five Facebook users accept that the site offers no privacy, unlike the majority of the general population who consider it a private space.

link: Facebook users reject illusion of privacy

This may be a good time to look through the information on your Facebook page and see if you want that information shared. Does it put you at risk?

Catherine Forsythe