There should be an image here!IPv6 is enabled by default starting in Windows Vista. IPv6 is the new computer address protocol that will eventually replace IPv4. At this point, not many have a requirement for IPv6 which means you can safely disable it.

You can disable IPv6 for each of your network interfaces, but doing so does not disable the protocol for the loopback and tunnel interfaces. To truly disable IPv6, you need to disable it through the Windows Registry.

To disable IPv6 through the Windows Registry in Windows 7:

  1. Click Start, type regedit and press Enter.
  2. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESYSTEMCurrentControlSetServicesTCPIP6Parameters.
  3. Right click Parameters, point to New and click DWORD (32-bit) Value).
  4. Name the new value DisabledComponents and press Enter.
  5. Right click the DisabledComponents value and click Modify.
  6. Set the value to FFFFFFFF and click OK.

Restart your computer and IPv6 will be disabled on all interfaces.

[Photo above by Dimitri N / CC BY-ND 2.0]