For those Facebook users who are super cautious and want to control what others put up on their wall, there is what is being called ‘Whitewalling’. The process is fairly simple to use. When you are done playing with your Facebook account, you deactivate the account upon exiting Facebook. This action will clean the account of all postings and only allow posting on your wall when you activate the account once again.

One article describes on how to Whitewall your account:

At first, like social media researcher Danah Boyd  points out, these Facebook habits might seem a bit over-the-top and perhaps unnecessary. And yet, they can make sense in certain high-pressure contexts. High school or ultra-sneaky work environments might be the kind of places where your Facebook activity can cost you a lot of peace of mind.

Notice that, while you or I might think that spending five minutes setting your privacy settings correctly might solve the hassle of having to deactivate your account when you log out, in reality these are two actions that accomplish different things. Mikalah and others like her want their friends to post stuff on their wall or tag them in a photo, but they don’t want them doing it when they’re not there to make sure it’s okay. Most importantly, someone like Mikalah doesn’t want any friends of friends digging up her profile when she’s not “around.” Deactivating her page literally erases her from Facebook.

So what do you think? Is it really worth the time to deactivate and reactivate your account each time you use Facebook? I think this is an unnecessary step and that the same privacy can be obtained by limiting who can access your wall in the first place.

Comments welcome.

Source – All Facebook