Some 19 Senators on the House Judiciary Committee have voted to censor the Internet. Despite being told by numerous legal scholars that the bill would violate our First Amendment rights, these 19 folks seem to think they know what is best for us. There is one Senator, Ron Wyden [D] from Oregon,  who has spoken out against the bill and has pledged to stop its passage.

Here are a list of Senators who passed the bill in the House Judiciary Committee:

What’s really amazing is that many of the same Senators have been speaking out against Internet censorship in other countries, yet they happily vote to approve it here because it’s seen as a way to make many of their largest campaign contributors happy. There’s very little chance that the bill will actually get passed by the end of the term but, in the meantime, we figured it might be useful to highlight the 19 Senators who voted to censor the Internet this morning:

  • Patrick J. Leahy — Vermont
  • Herb Kohl — Wisconsin
  • Jeff Sessions — Alabama
  • Dianne Feinstein — California
  • Orrin G. Hatch — Utah
  • Russ Feingold — Wisconsin
  • Chuck Grassley — Iowa
  • Arlen Specter — Pennsylvania
  • Jon Kyl — Arizona
  • Chuck Schumer — New York
  • Lindsey Graham — South Carolina
  • Dick Durbin — Illinois
  • John Cornyn — Texas
  • Benjamin L. Cardin — Maryland
  • Tom Coburn — Oklahoma
  • Sheldon Whitehouse — Rhode Island
  • Amy Klobuchar — Minnesota
  • Al Franken — Minnesota
  • Chris Coons — Delaware

I would certainly hope that the people who are represented by these Senators take a close look at these people when they seek reelection. It is obvious they have no concern about the Constitution of the United States, but are more concerned with the record and movie industry. We need people in Congress who represent the people, and not big business.

Just my two cents.

What do you think?

Comments welcome.

Source – Techdirt