Facebook users are sharing a viral application that allegedly will show the user who has visited their profile. Unfortunately this application does not show who has looked at your profile, but instead encourages you to let the application examine your profile. Here is what the message states and what you should be on alert for:

OMG OMG OMG… I cant believe this actually works! Now you really can see who viewed your profile! on [LINK]

The user is directed to a site with the following message asking for permission to access your profile:

But do you really want complete strangers to be able to email you, access your personal data and even post messages to any Facebook pages you may administer?

If you’ve got this far then you really shouldn’t go any further. Scams like this have been used to earn commission for the mischief makers behind them, who have no qualms about using your Facebook profile to spread their spammy links even further.

Because if you do continue, you’ll find that your profile will be yet another victim of the viral scam – spreading the message to all of your online Facebook friends and family. And no, you don’t ever find out who has been viewing your profile.

This goes back to the age-old advice. If you don’t know what it is or who it is from, don’t open it. But if you do get stung, here is how to remove it:

If you’ve been hit by a scam like this, remove references to it from your newsfeed, and revoke the right of rogue applications to access your profile via Account/ Privacy Settings/ Applications and Websites.

Comments welcome.

Source – sophos