In December 2010, a Twitter status leaked an announcement that Yahoo! was going to “Sunset”, or end, several of its services. These services included Del.icio.us, Upcoming, Fire Eagle, MyBlogLog and more. While many of Yahoo!’s core components, such as its email and instant messaging, still remain intact, many users are beginning an exodus from Yahoo! and looking for other services to host their photos and blogs. Other email providers, such as Gmail and Hotmail, are also now almost as popular as Yahoo! If you once had a Yahoo! account and now no longer want your Yahoo! Account, here is how to permanently delete your Yahoo! Account.
To permanently delete your Yahoo Account, you will first need to login to your Yahoo account. You will then need to visit the Account Termination Page. This page explains the repercussions of deleting your Yahoo! Account, which includes an automatic deletion of your Flickr account – so make sure you have your photos, if any, backed up. You will also want to make sure any bookmarks saved using Delicious are backed up as well. There are several good options for exporting your Delicious bookmarks.
Deleting your Yahoo! account will also permanently delete the contents of any and all other Yahoo profiles, including your HotJobs, Yahoo! Mail, Yahoo! Address Book, Yahoo! Small Business, Yahoo! GeoCities, Yahoo! Briefcase, My Yahoo!, and more. Deleting your Yahoo account will not, however, alter or delete your Yahoo! People Search listing (you need to edit or delete that yourself.) Once you are ready to delete your Yahoo Account, visit the Yahoo Account Termination page, confirm your identity with your Yahoo password at the bottom of the page, enter the captcha code, and then confirm that YES, you want to terminate your Yahoo account. This will start the process of permanently deleting your Yahoo Account.