If you have had Facebook for a few years, like I have, or even for just a few days, you may have acquired many friends. Some of these friends you may no longer want to be friends with on Facebook because you got into a fight, or broke up with them, or because they are your parents and you finally realized that being friends with family on Facebook is a bad idea. (Kidding. Kind of.) If you need to delete a friend on Facebook, you have two options – simply delete them as a Friend on Facebook, or if they’re really causing problems in your life, block that person on Facebook. Here is how to do both:
How To Delete a Friend on Facebook
If you would like to remove a friend, go to that person’s profile and click the “Unfriend” link. The “Unfriend” link is on the left side of their profile, beneath their highlighted friends. If you choose to unfriend someone, you will be removed from the person’s friends list as well. If you want to be friends with this person again on Facebook, you will need to send a new friend request.
To Block a Friend on Facebook
Go to Facebook and click Account at the top right of the page, and then select Privacy Settings from the dropdown menu. Then Under Block Lists, click “Edit your lists.” Enter the name or email address of the person you want to block and click “Block.” Don’t worry – the other person will not be notified when you block them.
Facebook notes that if you can’t find someone using this method, try going to the person’s profile page. You can block them by scrolling down to the bottom of the left column of their profile and clicking the “Report/Block This Person” link. Once you click this link, check the “Block this person” box and then click “Submit.” If you still can’t block someone using these methods, the person you are trying to Block may have left Facebook or have restricted their privacy settings. You can still prevent them from viewing your profile by adjusting your own privacy settings.