Work at the Same Time in Word Part IIWord 2010 includes many features that enable to you work more effectively with others on documents. Some of these features include: Block Authors, Save and Refresh, and Conflict Resolution Mode. In Part I, you learned about the Block Authors and Save and Refresh features. Now we’ll take a close look at the Conflict Resolution Mode.

If you’ve ever co-authored a document before, you’ve likely experienced some conflict; for example, when you and your co-author try to work on the document at the same time, one of you may get locked out while the other is editing. Conflict between co-authors can also occur when working offline; when you work on the document offline and the save it to the server. Furthermore, you can also run into co-authoring challenges when you and your co-author try to work on the same part of the document at the same time.

Conflict Resolution Mode in Word 2010 eliminates many of the challenges that occur when you co-author documents.

When there are editing conflicts, Word 2010 notifies you the next time you try to save the document. In fact, Word forces you to resolve the editing conflicts before it will let you save the document to the server. Any changes in the document are saved on your computer, even if there are editing conflicts, but the conflicts must be resolved before saving to the server.

When Word identifies conflicts due to co-authoring, a notification is displayed in the message bar and the status bar. You can click any of these notifications to switch to Conflict Resolution Mode and resolve the conflicts. When you switch to Conflict Resolution Mode, all conflicts are listed in a resolution pane and the Conflict tab appears on the Ribbon.

To resolve a conflict, click the conflict within the resolution pane. When you do, the conflicting portion of the document is highlighted. Any conflicting changes made by you are marked in pink.

To keep your change, click Accept on the Conflict tab. To remove your change, click Reject.