How to Block FarmVille on Facebook

If you’re not a fan of FarmVille (like I am), but still get those annoying messages from friends inviting you to the game, I’ve got the quick solution for you. FarmVille is one of the most popular games on the Facebook platform and it addicts so many people that it is hard to stop once you start. The game is played by the young and old, but that doesn’t mean it’s for everyone.

The game takes advantage of its users by optionally advertising itself and sending out news feed updates to your friends whenever a milestone is reached in the game with your farm or character. If you have lots of friends playing FarmVille, the updates can start to flood your news feed and clutter it up.

To get rid of these pesky invites and updates once and for all, we have a method of hiding those updates and notifications without hurting your friends.

Hiding FarmVille News Feed Updates

Removing FarmVille news feed updates is simple. Any time you see an update for FarmVille in your news feed, hover your mouse cursor to the right of the update and click the “Hide” button that will appear. Once you click on it, you will be given the option to either hide that friend or just the FarmVille app. Since you probably don’t want to block your friend’s updates, click “Hide FarmVille.” This, in turn, will hide all FarmVille news feed posts from any friends who you have playing the game.

Blocking FarmVille Notifications

The most harassing thing the game can do to you is send you notification after notification, inviting you to join FarmVille from your friends. For those who have expressed their disinterest in the game yet still get the invites, it can be really infuriating. Now, the easiest was of taking care of this problem is clicking the “x” next to the notification to block the FarmVille application.

If you haven’t gotten any notifications yet, but want to preemptively block them, just search for FarmVille using the Facebook search bar. Go to the application’s bar, and look for the button that says “Block Application” that is on the bottom of the left-hand side.

Clicking this button will prevent FarmVille from ever accessing your information or sending you notification to join the game, but this won’t block friend updates; you will have to refer to the above to block those.