LockerGnomeTech news and nostalgia for today's technology professionals
Subscribe

Search

Hardwarekindleamazone-readersaccessorieskobo

Amazon's $79.99 Kindle Page Turn Cover Brings Back Physical Buttons, but Only on the New Signature Editions

Amazon's magnetic Kindle Page Turn Cover adds two page-turn buttons with no pairing or charging, and it works only with the 2026 Paperwhite Signature Edition and Colorsoft Signature Edition.

Chris Pirillo, stitched in cross-stitch on linen, reads in an armchair and presses a side button on his e-reader's cover to turn the page.
Illustration: LockerGnome

The cover snaps on magnetically and draws what it needs from the Kindle itself. Notebookcheck’s Habeeb Onawole lists the rest: it’s rated IPX8 like the reader, and owners choose which button turns forward and which turns back.

The catch is the connector. Techwalla says the contact pins the cover needs “don’t exist on the base Kindle or on the standard, non-Signature versions of the Paperwhite and Colorsoft.” The Signature Editions “ship October 28,” so the cheapest way in is a $249.99 Paperwhite Signature Edition plus the cover, $329.98 before tax.

Amazon’s other answer costs less. The $34.99 Kindle Click, which TechCrunch’s Lauren Forristal describes as “a compact Bluetooth remote designed to let readers turn pages without touching their Kindle,” works with Kindles from 2024 onward. Notebookcheck says it charges over USB-C with no cable in the box, its side buttons adjust brightness, and pressing both puts the Kindle to sleep. It doesn’t work with the Kindle (2022) or the 11th-generation Paperwhite.

Kindle Page Turn Cover Kindle Click Kobo Remote
Price $79.99 $34.99 $29.99
Works with 2026 Paperwhite and Colorsoft Signature Editions Kindles from 2024 on Kobo readers (details not in coverage read)
Power From the Kindle, no charging USB-C, no cable included Not stated in coverage read
Pairing None Bluetooth Bluetooth
Water IPX8 Not stated Not stated

Readers had already said what they wanted. In an Android Authority poll of 2,844 readers, 72% said the buttons should be built into the Kindle. Only 9% liked having the extra option, 8% would pay if it worked with cheaper Kindles, and 11% said they had already switched to Kobo.

What Amazon didn’t say is why the cheaper Kindles skipped the pins, or whether next year’s base Kindle and standard Paperwhite will get them.

Amazon now sells physical page turning three ways: a remote for most recent Kindles, a cover for the top tier, and no buttons at all on the base model. That split makes the buttons a reason to buy the Signature line. Owners who want them on a cheaper Kindle are left with the Click or a third-party remote.

More Hardware

Every Hardware story →